Packing the hospital bags! | Mummy Monday

I am currently 35 weeks pregnant and for reasons I’ll go into in another post I have reason to believe that my little man will be making an appearance early! Therefore I’m trying to be super organised and have his and my hospital bags ready and packed by the door, for the husband to grab! I’ve done a lot of research about what I need to take with me for him and for me and I’ve come to realise, like with most things in life, you take the information that’s relevant to you and make it work. Below is a break down of everything I’ve decided I will need during labour and afterwards for me and for him.

My bag is never going to be the cutest thing so I’ll start with that! I’m actually using my Nike gym bag. I got it from Sports Direct ages ago and it’s a small holdall size with plenty of room for what I may need, but any bag will do. I’ve seen people packing up anything from plastic bags to full on suitcases. Personally, and I haven’t gone through it yet so my opinion may change, but a full suitcase is extremely excessive. I’m going to my local hospital, I live about 3 miles down the road, if I am that desperate for something the husband can go and get it! I assume there won’t be much room in the hospital, it’s not a hotel so I won’t be unpacking!! But anyway, back to the contents:

  • Medical notes (not pictured)
  • Old t shirts (not pictured)
  • Bottles of water and still Lucozade sport (not pictured)
  • Snacks (not pictured)
  • Hair ties
  • Slipper socks
  • Maternity pads
  • Old knickers
  • Nursing bras
  • Breast pads
  • Nipple cream
  • Towel (not pictured)
  • Pyjamas
  • Make up and toiletries
  • Going home outfit (not pictured, and not yet chosen!)
  • Lip balm
  • Support pillow (not pictured, I’m still using it!)
  • Glasses / contact lens stuff
  • Flannel
  • Bags for dirty washing
img_1462-1

My hospital bag

img_1464-1

Some of my toiletries (including a little box for hair ties and any jewellery I take off!

img_1463-1

My hospital bag contents (including a selfie stick and a mini bottle of prosecco!)

Not everything is pictured here as I’ll be honest, it hasn’t made its way to the bag yet but it will… eventually!

Moving on to his hospital bag. The actual bag is really old, I actually brought it when I lived in Baltimore and was coming home and needed a new carry on bag as I had accumulated too much stuff! The brand is Gravis.

img_1465-1

His hospital bag

The contents is of course, much cuter than mine! For him I have packed:

  • Newborn nappies
  • Nappy rash cream
  • Nappy bags
  • Cotton wool
  • Baby wipes
  • Hats and scratch mits
  • Sleepsuits
  • Vests
  • Going home outfit
  • Blanket
  • Towel (not pictured)
  • Muslins
  • Formula
  • Car seat (not pictured)

 

img_1467-1

His hospital bag contents

And again, not everything is pictured as some of it is being washed or it hasn’t quite made its way into the bag yet! I’ve included a little Peter Rabbit and another little soft rabbit in his bag as I think it will be so cute!

On top of these bags my husband will be packing a bag to keep himself entertained! It will have magazines, phone charger, snacks, clean underwear, toothbrush, toothpaste, a neck pillow, blanket, that kind of thing!

And that’s it! Some lists I found had a lot more on, some had less but I know me, and I know what I expect so that’s what I’m taking! I’m leaving the husband in charge of bringing what he needs and sorting out the car park money etc, practical things that I don’t want to think about while in the throws of labour! (OK, let’s be honest, in the next week or so I will pack him a small bag!!).

Anything you think I’ve missed?

Hannah

xx

Leave a Reply

